Submission

Link –

https://chaarlaxphotography.neocities.org/

Reflection

Over the process of this assignment, I have learned countless amounts of additional information. Most importantly I have learned that when you are designing a product or a service, you must tailor it to the user. A site which is not functional or has limited usability will not be used. Before taking this paper, I did not consider usability testing to be something of much importance. However, after conducting my own usability testing on peers and potential users, I found that the information gather was invaluable. If I continue with website design and coding, usability testing will be one of the most important tools I use and will be near the top of my priority list in things to do.

Following usability, I found that a simple and functional design is much better than a complicated and intricate design. Simplicity makes the coding process simpler, and it also makes the content easier to be absorbed by the user. The main point of having a website is to have information which is readily available and transportable. If the user is confused or does not receive the content efficiently, the purpose of the website is lost.

Finally, I now understand the importance of future planning in regards of the mock-up of my HTML. If I had skipped this process, my coding would have taken much longer than it initially took me. This small and simple step was so important in cutting a sizable chunk of time off my final coding time.

I encountered one major difficulty during my coding, and that was creating a responsive website design. It felt like I had tried almost every styling for my body, HTML, individual divs and containers, but nothing seemed to work. I finally consulted Abhi and the issue, and was told one simple thing ‘media query’. After a quick google, I could implement this detail of code which I had overlooked as I had searched for a solution to my problem. After learning how to use media queries, I successfully implemented one into my portfolio page to make the portfolio responsive.

I ran into a lot of smaller issues positioning, and doubling up floats or display styles with my containers and content. However, these small mistakes were easily sorted using Google Chrome developer tools, as they would tell me which style was either blocking or overriding the float or display I wanted to use.

If I was able to do this process again. I would plan my CSS before I started to code. My HTML was planned before I started, but I went blindly into my CSS which caused a lot of issues in positioning and making responsive pages. If I had spent the time I did planning my HTML on my CSS, then the styling process would have been much faster and a lot simpler.

Hopefully, I am able to take Web Media Production II and further my learning, but also bring all these points in mind to make any future projects easier, and much more manageable.

One Reply to “Submission”

  1. Hi Charles, I looked at your website and it looks super awesome. It’s very professional and I can tell that you took into consideration the usability of the website as well as its visual aesthetic. I found it incredibly easy to navigate from one page to another so you’ve really done a good job in terms of user experience. I also think how you’ve laid out your images is very clean. Overall, I think you’ve done a solid job creating your website and it would be interesting to see what you can come up with for Web Media Production II. Congrats on your completion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

